Go Back   Colonial Fleets > BATTLESTAR GALACTICA DISCUSSION AREA > The Last Battlestar......Galactica!
Notices
The Last Battlestar......Galactica! For discussions about the ORIGINAL series
What Dreams May Come!

Old December 11th, 2003, 08:39 AM   #1
Dean Martin
Warrior

Quote:
A question, Jewels that I have been wanting to ask, but didn't feel that a rational discussion was possible. How exactly have the producers arrogance and contempt? Genuinely curious. I have read all of the interviews of the various players, read of their attendance at various fan gatheings, and I can't find the contempt. Everyone has seemed very polite and conciliatory. Is it just that they are doing the project their way that is taken as contempt ?
I have read some pretty serious charges on verious boards, satanisim, conspiracies sending out false posters, buying off critics, sexual favors etc.
I work in the business and have never seen that kind of behavior on the part of anyone. Trust me I don't see producers and studio heads as saints, but what exactly have they done?*
I agree with you. I don't see contempt EXCEPT in making a female Starbuck. At the very least there is a lack of respect for TOS fans. But for the rest of the mini I saw a lot of genuine homage to TOS.
There were nods to the original Cylons and many other connections that were made. I still can't get past the female Starbuck though. I haven't found a reason other than to create some sort of sexual tension but that could have been accomplished with ANY character.
If I was given some sort of plot connection that I could see, oh they 'Had' to do it to make it work but I just don't see it.

Dean Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2003, 03:17 PM   #2
thomas7g
out there somewhere

COMMAND INSIGNIAFormer Admin (ret)
Colonial Fleets
BattlestarGalactica-Fleets.com
Owner
Ship Of Lights Forum

Oh you better ask that question in the OTHER miniseries forum!

Don't answer it on this side!