Go Back   Colonial Fleets > REJUVENATION CENTER > Galactica Cafe
Notices
Galactica Cafe A place to socialize and have fun!

Old February 17th, 2011, 06:33 PM   #1
Thunderstruck
Warrior

Default Collaboration BSG Why not? A fan film

I know I am new to this and most other BSG communities , but I share a lot of the same views and opinions. I have also seen many many fan made efforts and endeavors, stories and ideas to which I have just scalped the surface.
I think it was Martok that mentioned on this and I believe it has been said before I am sure.

Just something that occurred to me.

Since coming back online just a few years ago and becoming disabled, I have had time to explore the net more and be active in a few places.And begin my journey into Gfx and video,CGI

I am part of a gaming community that was mostly based on C&C Command and Conquer series based on Renegade of that franchise. The game is 10 years old but still is running on multiplay servers.Still has many dedicated servers.And still gains players.
Now-EA Electronics Arts bought out Westwood Studios years ago and basically killed the franchise.To make a long story short-

Since EA would not remake or upgrade Renegade, fans took it upon themselves to create one.And they have, it is called RenegadeX.
It is not for sale or anything like that.It has taken them quite a few years doing it in spare time and such. It is not really a whole new independent game. They got permission to use a game engine from another game and used it to build and upgrade the graphics and such using some of the same maps and models or upgrading them.Using same stuff from original and adding to it.It was finally finished a few months ago.

I suppose my point is, that this can be done with a game, without violating
any rights, with no commercial purpose and a total fan based endeavor was successful or has been done, why then cannot this? Or something similar.
Why can't a CGI film be done? Why hasn't it? .