Go Back   Colonial Fleets > FAN CREATIVITY > ART Work - In Progress
Notices

Reply

 
Thread Tools
Old January 21st, 2005, 03:52 PM   #1
gmd3d
Major
 
gmd3d's Avatar
 


Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 5,083

Lightbulb Galactica Landing bays TOS

The landing bay, Internal layout what do you think.
Tha landing bay is based on Westys autocad design, from the launch tubes the outer shell is all his. the internal areas with vipers and shuttles etc is what I think it should be like. the scales expressed are westys and mine for a ship a mile long.


what do you think???







Edit: Removed extra IMG tags
BST
__________________
Formally Taranis
My Blog

"The world is my country, science my religion.
gmd3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2005, 11:27 PM   #2
dilbertman
Warrior Ace
 
dilbertman's Avatar
 


Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Roseville, MI
Posts: 848


Default

COOL! I like it.

Jim
dilbertman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2005, 09:55 AM   #3
TrashTrampoline
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Default

thats alotta work! nice job!!
  Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2005, 11:41 AM   #4
justjackrandom
Warrior
 
justjackrandom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 277

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taranis
The landing bay, Internal layout what do you think.
Tha landing bay is based on Westys autocad design, from the launch tubes the outer shell is all his. the internal areas with vipers and shuttles etc is what I think it should be like. the scales expressed are westys and mine for a ship a mile long.
Way cool. I happen to like that scale, and love the layout.

I have a question and two observations.

So the launch deck is on level 3, while the landing deck is on level 2?

Observations: 1) If the launch deck is on level 3, why not extend the length of the tubes, and make the bay on the inside of the pods as opposed to the outside. This keeps more with the amount of time we see Vipers in the tubes during launch (not by much, but some). 2) Primary fuel and prep is probably done in bays beside the tubes, and some form of conveyer moves those Vipers into line with the tubes. This is seen in the backdrop to the launch bay set.

Overall, it rocks.

JJR
__________________
It is not the same to talk of bulls as to be in the bullring.
--Spanish Proverb
justjackrandom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2005, 03:06 PM   #5
gmd3d
Major
 
gmd3d's Avatar
 


Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 5,083

Default

The Idea I had was.......The Viper land as always on the landing deck and then in the openings on the Inner wall enter (without the launch tubs) and an elevator take them down a deck to Level 1. where they are refueled or rearmed, repaired or what ever.

Then when they are needed an other evevator on the other side lifts the viper into position to be launched....

The shuttles/landrams on the other travel up into the larger area for storage, and anyother equipment you can think off.

I never got to complete this or work on it more.....westy who autocad the launchtubs and the surounding hull did a fantastic job on it and has the most
detailed drawing of the Galactica.. http://www.mortalstorm.com/ check it out you will be very impressed.

I you have ideas of you own please share them??

This was only my concept of the layout, westy may be differant??

anyway thank I hope to get back to it sometime..
__________________
Formally Taranis
My Blog

"The world is my country, science my religion.
gmd3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2005, 05:06 PM   #6
justjackrandom
Warrior
 
justjackrandom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 277

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taranis
The Idea I had was.......The Viper land as always on the landing deck and then in the openings on the Inner wall enter (without the launch tubs) and an elevator take them down a deck to Level 1. where they are refueled or rearmed, repaired or what ever.

Then when they are needed an other evevator on the other side lifts the viper into position to be launched....

The shuttles/landrams on the other travel up into the larger area for storage, and anyother equipment you can think off.

I never got to complete this or work on it more.....westy who autocad the launchtubs and the surounding hull did a fantastic job on it and has the most
detailed drawing of the Galactica.. http://www.mortalstorm.com/ check it out you will be very impressed.

I you have ideas of you own please share them??

This was only my concept of the layout, westy may be differant??

anyway thank I hope to get back to it sometime..

I really like it. I've been looking at it more closely, and like a number of features you have included. One of the most valuable things you've done here is set the scale, which to me was always a sticky point.

Really very cool...

JJR
__________________
It is not the same to talk of bulls as to be in the bullring.
--Spanish Proverb
justjackrandom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2005, 09:21 AM   #7
gmd3d
Major
 
gmd3d's Avatar
 


Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 5,083

Default

justjackrandom.. thanks.. the man that worked it out is, westy who is a wonder with Autocad and better at math than I ..Having said that it took me day to get the best scaling possible.
and like you the scale was alwas a sticky point. there are differant accounts to..but the designer and Mr Larson wanted the Galactica to be about a mile long the landing bay above fits in with that ..

It was one of the first things I asked when I joined last march?! .. what size is the BSG and with westy help thats what came out of it.. I would love to back into it some time in the future
__________________
Formally Taranis
My Blog

"The world is my country, science my religion.
gmd3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2005, 09:42 AM   #8
Archangel
Bad Email Address
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 5,280

Default

Looks good!
Archangel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2005, 10:18 AM   #9
repcisg
Officer
 
repcisg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Vancouver, Wa USA
Posts: 1,874

Default

Taranis,

Your work is first rate, absolutely first rate. I like the way you laid it out and scaled it.

I tried to do something similar a couple of years ago but lacked the tools. Paint is the best I had then. You might check out a web site I started to construct back then. Ive kept it hoping I would have the time to go back and finish it some day.

http://www.starcmd.com/BSG/index.html

At some point I would like to feature your work on my site, I also think you should add it to the gallery here, this is the sort of thing we need.
__________________
In the grand scheme of things we are but a mote of dust caught in an eddy of time. REP
repcisg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2005, 10:41 AM   #10
gmd3d
Major
 
gmd3d's Avatar
 


Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 5,083

Thumbs up

No problem... but as i said Its also Westys...
I use paint too , Then I got Turbocad (its like Autocad) but I never used it properly
I think that the launch bays are a open book for some designs and while I like mine I think it can be improved alot. but westy is very busy these day and a hard man to catch...
westy did so great mesurments, I will try to find them and post them here?

I like your version and it has its possibilitys,
__________________
Formally Taranis
My Blog

"The world is my country, science my religion.
gmd3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2005, 10:49 AM   #11
gmd3d
Major
 
gmd3d's Avatar
 


Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 5,083

Thumbs up

I don't remember where I got this from

Quote:
"There was never an exact length quoted for the Galactica on
screen, in Colonial _or_ Earth units. Various fan and modelling
publications have quoted lengths of 2000 feet or "one mile", but
these have no firm basis in the series.
!!! Recently, [forgotten his
name], one of the three men who own the Galactica Archives, a
collection of BG props, costumes and related material, wrote in a
British modelling magazine that he estimated the scale of the
original 76-inch Galactica miniature to be around 1/960, based on
the size of the landing bay entrance. This would make the
full-size ship 6080 feet (1853 metres) long!!! -- by coincidence,
exactly (pre-SI) one nautical mile. This is as definitive a value
as we are likely to get, barring pronouncements from Glen
Larson."
__________________
Formally Taranis
My Blog

"The world is my country, science my religion.
gmd3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2005, 12:46 PM   #12
repcisg
Officer
 
repcisg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Vancouver, Wa USA
Posts: 1,874

Default

The folks who built the model said they used 1/960 scale, that is about as close to cannon as you can get, short of building the real thing! I used 6080 feet for my calcs.
__________________
In the grand scheme of things we are but a mote of dust caught in an eddy of time. REP
repcisg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2005, 03:18 PM   #13
gmd3d
Major
 
gmd3d's Avatar
 


Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 5,083

Thumbs up

Quote:
At some point I would like to feature your work on my site, I also think you should add it to the gallery here, this is the sort of thing we need.
that would be cool, I will be doing more on the internal working on the BSG in the next few weeks...how do I add it to the Gallery???

Quote:
I used 6080 feet for my calcs
Thats the scale i think it is..
__________________
Formally Taranis
My Blog

"The world is my country, science my religion.
gmd3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2005, 06:33 PM   #14
Fragmentary
 
Fragmentary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 880

Default

On the topic of the Galactica's size, I thought I'd share the most comprehensive study I've seen done on this topic. It's very interesting if you're in to this sort of thing.

The article is here:
http://www.merzo.net/

but the site does not allow me to link directly to the article. so there are steps.
Go there, click on the 2X scale option,
find the Galactica and click the link beneath it....
Fragmentary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2005, 12:31 AM   #15
repcisg
Officer
 
repcisg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Vancouver, Wa USA
Posts: 1,874

Default

It is interesting that Glen Larson (Producer) and John Dykstra (VFX supervisor and designer of the Model) both say it is a mile long. Others, not from the production staff say differently.
__________________
In the grand scheme of things we are but a mote of dust caught in an eddy of time. REP
repcisg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2005, 01:35 AM   #16
gmd3d
Major
 
gmd3d's Avatar
 


Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 5,083

Thumbs up

Quote:
It is interesting that Glen Larson (Producer) and John Dykstra (VFX supervisor and designer of the Model) both say it is a mile long
Personly I think that...if Larson and Dykstra say it a mile long...it should be viewed
as canon..It's a mile long.....


Fragmentary:: Thats a cool site...But I disagree with the scale of 610m, and I think many fans think the same thing..if it was 610m it would be shorter than the USS ENTERPRISE galaxy class by 20m???
__________________
Formally Taranis
My Blog

"The world is my country, science my religion.
gmd3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2005, 02:07 AM   #17
gmd3d
Major
 
gmd3d's Avatar
 


Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 5,083

Exclamation

An intresting findedhttp://ravensbranch.allen.com/galacticasize.html:
Quote:
In a related note and one that I will use eventually to do some measurements, The Battlestar Galactica Scrapbook mentions that Dykstra's team extrapolated the length of a the shuttle from the size of the windows to be 110 feet. For practical purposes, the art director arbitrarily cut the scale in half and a 33 foot long section of the shuttle was built.
MY PROBLEM with that is .. if the shuttle is supposed to be 110 ft long it won't fit into the landing bays??

If the shuttle is 110ft long ...how tall would it be???? anyone care to work it out??
__________________
Formally Taranis
My Blog

"The world is my country, science my religion.
gmd3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2005, 11:15 AM   #18
SpyOne
On Vacation...
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 93

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taranis
MY PROBLEM with that is .. if the shuttle is supposed to be 110 ft long it won't fit into the landing bays??

If the shuttle is 110ft long ...how tall would it be???? anyone care to work it out??
I can't find a good profile shot of the shuttle.
However, I'd hazard the guess that it is less than 50' high.

Using the 6080' measure for Galactica, and the schematic as shipschematics.net, I get the height of the landing bay opening at around 280 feet wide and 90 feet high.

While it would fit, the shuttle would not have nearly as much room as it does when shown landing. And the Viper would have much more.
SpyOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2005, 03:53 PM   #19
gmd3d
Major
 
gmd3d's Avatar
 


Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 5,083

Default

Quote:
While it would fit, the shuttle would not have nearly as much room as it does when shown landing. And the Viper would have much more.
I tend to argree spyone anyone like to speculate a revised height for the shuttle or the bay ?
__________________
Formally Taranis
My Blog

"The world is my country, science my religion.
gmd3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2005, 10:15 AM   #20
repcisg
Officer
 
repcisg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Vancouver, Wa USA
Posts: 1,874

Default

Very little attention was paid to the interior scale of the Galactica. For the interior of the landing bay, many background immages were mat paintings. These were not done to any scale but simply to what looked good.

Some fans have tried using the interior images to estmate the Galacticas size.
__________________
In the grand scheme of things we are but a mote of dust caught in an eddy of time. REP
repcisg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2005, 04:21 PM   #21
justjackrandom
Warrior
 
justjackrandom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 277

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taranis
I tend to argree spyone anyone like to speculate a revised height for the shuttle or the bay ?
I'm late coming to this thread, but I'm getting ready to tackle the subject again, so I'll post what I find here.

Something else I've been skulling over:

The aft set of launch tubes are too far back to be as long as the ones in front (if the forward ones are more than a few viper-lenghs long). Here what I'm thinking. The forward three sets are for getting the squadrons launched from the maintenance and launch bay. They provide additional acceleration through some mechanism (magnetic or gravitic acceleration?) to get the fighters out at a higher relative velocity than they could achieve with turbos alone. Otherwise, why have the long launch tubes at all?

But the back tubes are different. These are rapid reload launch tubes. Pilots who need to refuel or re-arm in a hotly contested area might not want to take the time to take his ship all the way in, and have it moved into position to launch in the traditional way. Instead, they land, and taxi directly into one of these tubes, where they are quickly refueled and rearmed while they remain in the cockpit, and then they punch out at full turbo only (no assist). The only reason for the tube at all is to make sure that during combat all craft are launching along roughly the same vector, which eases traffic management.

Just a thought.

--JJR
__________________
It is not the same to talk of bulls as to be in the bullring.
--Spanish Proverb
justjackrandom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2005, 02:26 AM   #22
Fragmentary
 
Fragmentary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 880

Default

That a pretty cool bit o' reasoning there JJR
Fragmentary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2005, 02:31 AM   #23
gmd3d
Major
 
gmd3d's Avatar
 


Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 5,083

Default

Nice thinking as always JJR. and it make a lot of sence to ..I noted in the second comming (I think) the aft launch tubes were moved a little bit forward ..
__________________
Formally Taranis
My Blog

"The world is my country, science my religion.
gmd3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2005, 09:41 PM   #24
Zinjo
Shuttle Pilot
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8

Default

Nice, I like!
Zinjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2005, 04:38 AM   #25
gmd3d
Major
 
gmd3d's Avatar
 


Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 5,083

Default

Thanks Zinjo. I hope to return to this some day and improve on it..
__________________
Formally Taranis
My Blog

"The world is my country, science my religion.
gmd3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2006, 02:22 AM   #26
Smallworld
Bad Email Address
 
Smallworld's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 158

Default

Very interesting indeed. I had always wondered about the relationship between the launch tubes and the landing area. Thanks for sharing.
Smallworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2006, 08:11 AM   #27
rduda@akronbras
Shuttle Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 11

Superman/Smallville Link

I liked the link to the videos
rduda@akronbras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2006, 01:32 PM   #28
spcglider
Bad Email Address
 
spcglider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,207

Default

This is VERY cool indeed. And the scale you've established is right in line with what I'd always imagined.

Thanks for sharing it with us!

-Gordon
spcglider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 5th, 2006, 01:34 PM   #29
SilentBob
Warrior
 
SilentBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 146

Default

Interesting. I once encountered someone who thought the Vipers launched out of the back of the ship. I guess he never saw the launch tubes.
SilentBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2006, 10:56 AM   #30
SilentBob
Warrior
 
SilentBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 146

Default

Hey Taranis, I got a question. On your drawing, you have red circles around most of the vipers in the staging area on level 1. My question is, are every one of those red circles an elevator to take the viper up to level 2?
SilentBob is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEWS: Colonial Newsletter - 12/21/2003 StarshipTrooper The Colonial Newsletter Archives 9 March 12th, 2004 05:49 PM
NEWS: Colonial Newsletter - 11/12/2003 StarshipTrooper The Colonial Newsletter Archives 7 November 12th, 2003 10:16 PM
NEWS: Colonial Newsletter - 06/05/2003 StarshipTrooper The Colonial Newsletter Archives 5 June 5th, 2003 07:41 PM
NEWS: Colonial Newsletter - 04/03/2003 StarshipTrooper The Colonial Newsletter Archives 6 April 3rd, 2003 11:07 PM
NEWS: Colonial Newsletter - 03/04/2003 StarshipTrooper The Colonial Newsletter Archives 5 March 4th, 2003 08:31 AM




So sez our Muffit!!!

For fans of the Classic Battlestar Galactica series



COPYRIGHT
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:40 PM. Contact the Fleet - Colonial Fleets - Archive - Privacy Statement - Top
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.8.11, Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content and Graphics ©2000-Present Colonial Fleets
The Colonial Fleets Forums are run by Battlestar Galactica fans, paid for by Battlestar Galactica fans, for the enjoyment of fellow Battlestar Galactica fans.



©2000-2008 Colonial Fleets