Go Back   Colonial Fleets > REJUVENATION CENTER > Galactica Cafe
Notices
Galactica Cafe A place to socialize and have fun!

Old February 9th, 2010, 01:48 PM   #1
TwoBrainedCylon
Imperious Leader

COMMAND INSIGNIAFounder
Cylon.org

Default My letter to the editor

Quote:
I am a military veteran who has served in peace and wartime, in good places and bad, and seen what I consider the best and worst that humanity has to offer. I've settled in Florida because I'm proud of the people who live here and greatly enjoy the environment of central Floridian life. That especially includes the wildlife we enjoy here.

I'm lucky in that I own a house that has a lake in the back and even luckier in that among the herons, ducks, and other birds, we have swans. We now have three. A couple years ago we had ten.

That situation changed a small bit last night when my fiancee and I were walking along the sidewalk of one of the busiest streets in the area. As the sun set, we noted a swan carefully moving along the opposite side of the road, heading back towards its mate. Traffic on that side has stopped to allow him to pass and the drivers of those vehicles enjoyed the unexpected show of such a large magnificent bird crossing right in front of them. One laughed appreciatively, noting the uncertainty that such a large aquatic bird had at moving along the black roadway.

When the swan reached the center divide, it looked upon the oncoming traffic with understandable concern. I shared its uncertainty. This was certainly no place for a swan to be.