Go Back   Colonial Fleets > FAN CREATIVITY > ART Work - In Progress
Notices

Reply

 
Thread Tools
Old May 12th, 2010, 11:45 AM   #31
gmd3d
Major
 
gmd3d's Avatar
 


Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 5,082

Default Re: My colonial shuttle model update

Quote:
Originally Posted by Limerickcot View Post
Yeah. I try to remodel where possible but as doga is 'lego' modelling its really difficult to deal with.
have your tried Truespace or Blender - these are free
__________________
Formally Taranis
My Blog

"The world is my country, science my religion.

Last edited by gmd3d; September 15th, 2012 at 02:36 AM..
gmd3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2010, 12:41 PM   #32
Punisher454
Warrior Ace
 
Punisher454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Salem Oregon
Posts: 523

Default Re: My colonial shuttle model update

Blender seems to be getting more popular all the time. I have also been seeing much better models done in sketchup recently. I have no experience with either of these though.

There also may be a free personal learning edition of XSI (at least there used to be).
__________________
"Friend? Oviners have no friends!"
Punisher454 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2010, 12:48 PM   #33
gmd3d
Major
 
gmd3d's Avatar
 


Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 5,082

Default Re: My colonial shuttle model update

blender and true-space are good at importing and exporting other formats . No idea about skectchup myself . I have seen some incredible work from the former 2.

in fact the model I help on the conversion was a Truespace .
__________________
Formally Taranis
My Blog

"The world is my country, science my religion.
gmd3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2012, 09:20 PM   #34
Punisher454
Warrior Ace
 
Punisher454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Salem Oregon
Posts: 523

Default Re: My colonial shuttle model update

Okay, about two and a half years later, I finally have gotten a chance to make some progress on my shuttle model. Specifically the rear door.
I have tried about a dozen different door/ramp designs since I started this model, but none have really been right at all. But now I am finally happy with this new configuration. I still need to add the final part of the door that wraps up around the back of the shuttle.

These quick test renders have many components of the shuttle model hidden. the final part of the ramp will be attached to the end of this piece and will fold down.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg colonial_shuttle_ramp_001.jpg (149.4 KB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg colonial_shuttle_ramp_002.jpg (344.1 KB, 16 views)
File Type: jpg colonial_shuttle_ramp_003.jpg (347.4 KB, 14 views)
File Type: jpg colonial_shuttle_ramp_004.jpg (266.2 KB, 16 views)
__________________
"Friend? Oviners have no friends!"
Punisher454 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2012, 02:37 AM   #35
gmd3d
Major
 
gmd3d's Avatar
 


Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 5,082

Default Re: My colonial shuttle model update

wow . very nice progress
__________________
Formally Taranis
My Blog

"The world is my country, science my religion.
gmd3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2012, 02:52 AM   #36
Punisher454
Warrior Ace
 
Punisher454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Salem Oregon
Posts: 523

Default Re: My colonial shuttle model update

After posting this, I now have the end of the ramp mostly finished. I also have a basic layout for the interior of the lower deck of the shuttle now. Before I always just had a large empty space with a staircase that went a direction that I didnt like. I'm much happier with the layout now. Hopefully My personal schedule will remain light for a few more days and I can get accomplish a bit more.
I also was able to work a little more on my Centurion model, replacing all of the Iron Man parts I was using as temporary placeholders. Hopefully I'll be able to show some of that soon.
__________________
"Friend? Oviners have no friends!"
Punisher454 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2012, 02:12 PM   #37
Matador
Viper Pilot
 
Matador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Long Beach, Ca.
Posts: 364

Default Re: My colonial shuttle model update

That looks really good. Very nice detail.
Matador is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2012, 10:25 PM   #38
martok2112
Colonial Story Teller
 
martok2112's Avatar
 
FORUM STAFFFleet Moderator
Colonial Fleets

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New Orleans (Metairie), LA
Posts: 4,785


Default Re: My colonial shuttle model update

Indeed...that is super cool.

This inspires me to redesign the door on my own shuttle model. Currently, I am using a door that is created by Reallusion, but has been repurposed for my shuttle. And now that I've learned how to create "perform" commands for my props, I can make my very own custom doors from Blender.
__________________
Don't be a fan. Don't be a victim!-Martok2112
martok2112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2012, 05:07 AM   #39
Punisher454
Warrior Ace
 
Punisher454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Salem Oregon
Posts: 523

Default Re: My colonial shuttle model update

The rear door on the shuttle is a particularly interesting modeling challenge, seeing how the studio model design makes it a little impossible to make a working door without changing something. the challenge is to minimize the mods to the design to make it work.
For my project I have added an extra degree of difficulty since I am limited to 65k vertices per model in the game engine.

For your shuttle you'll be much happier with assets you make yourself. Its interesting to watch how quickly Blender is started to be accepted as a more serious modeling app. Even the Game engine I am working with now has a way to import Blender models.
__________________
"Friend? Oviners have no friends!"
Punisher454 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2012, 07:06 AM   #40
David Kerin
Warrior Ace
 
Colonial Fan ForceArtist
Colonial Fan Force
SPECIAL ACHIEVEMENT AWARDBattlestar Galactica
Revivalist

Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 652

Default Re: My colonial shuttle model update

I've made the move over to Blender for all my 3d stuff, and love it. And looking through some of the Blender websites will give examples of what people are doing with it, and it looks fantastic. blendernation usually has daily updates on various things people are doing, and program upgrade news. And its not just a great program because its free. It is a great program, that just so happens to be free.
David Kerin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2012, 02:40 PM   #41
Punisher454
Warrior Ace
 
Punisher454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Salem Oregon
Posts: 523

Default Re: My colonial shuttle model update

Okay I go t a little more done on the ramp. I am fairly happy with the pivot points. I think the animation used in the game engine should be a lot slower than this though.
I still have a lot more to do, but its finally coming together after being on the back burner for way too long.

Here is a 150 frame animation on my youtube channel.
http://youtu.be/-m889Om9KaA
__________________
"Friend? Oviners have no friends!"
Punisher454 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2012, 02:52 PM   #42
martok2112
Colonial Story Teller
 
martok2112's Avatar
 
FORUM STAFFFleet Moderator
Colonial Fleets

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New Orleans (Metairie), LA
Posts: 4,785


Default Re: My colonial shuttle model update

Very very cool! Pivot points look good.
If you cannot get the doors to slow down in the game engine, you might have to resort to slowing down the footage in an external film editor (kinda like how Star Wars sped up the footage of Imperial control room blast doors opening/closing on the Death Star). Just make sure your footage is isolated from outside elements like fighters flying over head, or people walking by.

Another thought....I don't know how the animations work exactly in your game engine, but if there is a "timeline" feature involved, see if you can stretch out either the keyframes--by spacing them apart, or see if your opening animation is stored as an "animation" bar, and stretch out the bar over the timeline til you get to a duration you're satisfied with.

That's how it works in iClone.
__________________
Don't be a fan. Don't be a victim!-Martok2112
martok2112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2012, 04:13 PM   #43
Punisher454
Warrior Ace
 
Punisher454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Salem Oregon
Posts: 523

Default Re: My colonial shuttle model update

The animation speed is ridiculously simple to adjust, I just slide a key frame marker on the timeline. I'll just have to make adjustments after watching it in the game engine to get the speed like I like it. Its so fast right now because I only wanted to render 150 frames, which took almost 2 hours on my current system.
Most likely I'll have to find a sound effect I like and then adjust the animation timing to fit.
__________________
"Friend? Oviners have no friends!"
Punisher454 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2012, 04:19 PM   #44
martok2112
Colonial Story Teller
 
martok2112's Avatar
 
FORUM STAFFFleet Moderator
Colonial Fleets

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New Orleans (Metairie), LA
Posts: 4,785


Default Re: My colonial shuttle model update

Ah, very good then.

Speaking of sound effects, I am collecting all manner of sound effects from sci-fi based video games that I can use for both my BSGWars project, and for future original projects.
__________________
Don't be a fan. Don't be a victim!-Martok2112
martok2112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2012, 05:08 PM   #45
Matador
Viper Pilot
 
Matador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Long Beach, Ca.
Posts: 364

Default Re: My colonial shuttle model update

The animation is nice. Very well done.
Matador is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2013, 04:55 PM   #46
Punisher454
Warrior Ace
 
Punisher454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Salem Oregon
Posts: 523

Default Re: My colonial shuttle model update

I had a couple of days available to model lately, and have made some nice progress. Pics of which will be coming soon.

But first I need some opinions on something.
The scale of the Cylon tanker/freighter. A Cylon freighter will play a major role in the game I am working on. I'll be modeling a full interior and exterior of the freighter. There is however very little scale reference for these ships. I have loaded a tanker model by David Kerin into a scene with my shuttle model. The tanker has been scaled up to what I think may be close to scale.

so what do you think? too big, too small, close enough... I'm interested in the opinions of this community.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg tanker_scale_test_01.jpg (61.9 KB, 14 views)
File Type: jpg tanker_scale_test_02.jpg (147.9 KB, 14 views)
File Type: jpg tanker_scale_test_03.jpg (112.6 KB, 14 views)
__________________
"Friend? Oviners have no friends!"
Punisher454 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2013, 05:35 PM   #47
mikala
Warrior
 
mikala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 263

Default Re: My colonial shuttle model update

I'm of the "too small" mind.
Just remembering "off the top of my head" what it looked like compared to the Vipers in the first episode. The vipers looked a lot larger than the shuttle does at this point if I'm correct.
mikala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2013, 07:35 PM   #48
Punisher454
Warrior Ace
 
Punisher454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Salem Oregon
Posts: 523

Default Re: My colonial shuttle model update

ok, just to be clear, I'm trying to figure out the scale of the tanker. The shuttle is already to scale.

so that 1 for tanker too big.

Honestly, the ship will be a somewhat easier to build if its smaller.
__________________
"Friend? Oviners have no friends!"
Punisher454 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2013, 07:40 PM   #49
mikala
Warrior
 
mikala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 263

Default Re: My colonial shuttle model update

Sorry yes the tanker looks too big to me
mikala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2013, 09:59 PM   #50
Punisher454
Warrior Ace
 
Punisher454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Salem Oregon
Posts: 523

Default Re: My colonial shuttle model update

OK, now a few screenshots on what I've been working on.
The shuttle interior is all figured out now and all the compartments have a shell model in place now.
The shuttle had to be built in multiple pieces since the game engine has a 64,000 vertex limit per model. So what you do is create a "prefab" consisting of a group of sub components.
I am currently trying to UV map the exterior parts before moving on to finishing the interior. I'll probably record a video as soon as I have the elevator and all the doors functional.
There are some obvious smoothing and texture seam problems, but its coming together. The reflective surfaces on the engine will be toned down and will have a spec map plus some discolored areas. Its very early still.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg MWSnap001.jpg (282.1 KB, 17 views)
File Type: jpg MWSnap002.jpg (349.6 KB, 12 views)
File Type: jpg MWSnap003.jpg (319.4 KB, 14 views)
File Type: jpg MWSnap005.jpg (227.5 KB, 13 views)
__________________
"Friend? Oviners have no friends!"
Punisher454 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2013, 10:00 PM   #51
Punisher454
Warrior Ace
 
Punisher454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Salem Oregon
Posts: 523

Default Re: My colonial shuttle model update

and a few more...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg MWSnap007.jpg (282.2 KB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg MWSnap008.jpg (350.9 KB, 16 views)
File Type: jpg MWSnap009.jpg (300.7 KB, 14 views)
File Type: jpg MWSnap010.jpg (271.0 KB, 19 views)
__________________
"Friend? Oviners have no friends!"
Punisher454 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2013, 07:14 AM   #52
Titon
Retired or am I?
 
Titon's Avatar
 


Special Effects Artist
Battlestar Galactica 2003
COMMAND INSIGNIACoFounder
Colonial Fleets

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,794

Default Re: My colonial shuttle model update

That's lookin great!

Could scale down the tanker a bit though. Also looks a wee bit big to me but stellar work!

__________________
www.colonialfleets.com
THE ART OF GALACTICA!
Titon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2013, 09:51 AM   #53
Matador
Viper Pilot
 
Matador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Long Beach, Ca.
Posts: 364

Default Re: My colonial shuttle model update

Quote:
Originally Posted by Punisher454 View Post
But first I need some opinions on something.
The scale of the Cylon tanker/freighter.
That looks about right to me. I've always wondered that size the tankers were supposed to be myself... That is a great illustration of that.

I think it's perfect.

__________________
"I reject your reality and substitute it with my own."
Matador is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2013, 01:05 PM   #54
gmd3d
Major
 
gmd3d's Avatar
 


Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 5,082

Default Re: My colonial shuttle model update

Yes I think the tanker looks to big against the shuttle... your doing fantastic work.
__________________
Formally Taranis
My Blog

"The world is my country, science my religion.
gmd3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2013, 02:54 PM   #55
Punisher454
Warrior Ace
 
Punisher454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Salem Oregon
Posts: 523

Default Re: My colonial shuttle model update

Thanks, I think I'll reduce the scale of the tanker. For my scenario I still need the shuttle to be aboard the tanker, and hidden from view. I think I'll scale it down until the shuttle has just barely enough space to fit within one of the cargo pods. Then one of the next projects will be building the new tanker, David K's model is just for reference right now.

I still havent decided if the tanker/freighter has rollup doors over each bay, or are they modular containers. The studio model seems to imply either depending on which features you are looking at. If they are detachable modular containers then the "tanker" is really just a universal hauler and could carry fuel, cargo, troops, or a combination.

As for the shuttle, I spent all night last night trying to get the elevator working correctly. I'm suspecting a bug in the current release of the editor. I have several sliding doors working right now. I hope to post a video in the next week or so.

I think as soon as the shuttle is done, I'll finish up the landram, its about 85% or so right now. I may release a playable basic landram driving map just for fun.
__________________
"Friend? Oviners have no friends!"
Punisher454 is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clean joke of the day. Damocles Galactica Cafe 2575 October 4th, 2019 12:11 PM
Colonial Shuttle - Lightwave Monodox ART Work - In Progress 31 January 27th, 2011 08:55 AM
Help With Colonial Shuttle Fretslayer All About Models 7 December 27th, 2007 10:25 AM
Colonial Shuttlecraft Model from SMT spcglider Galactica and Fleets News 0 November 22nd, 2006 08:49 AM
Happy Birthday, Darkjedi!!!!! Dawg Galactica Cafe 15 November 15th, 2004 04:12 PM




So sez our Muffit!!!

For fans of the Classic Battlestar Galactica series



COPYRIGHT
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:14 AM. Contact the Fleet - Colonial Fleets - Archive - Privacy Statement - Top
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.8.11, Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content and Graphics ©2000-Present Colonial Fleets
The Colonial Fleets Forums are run by Battlestar Galactica fans, paid for by Battlestar Galactica fans, for the enjoyment of fellow Battlestar Galactica fans.



©2000-2008 Colonial Fleets