Go Back   Colonial Fleets > REEL-WORLD CONNECTION > Merchandise & Memorabilia
Notices

Old October 29th, 2005, 01:34 PM   #1
spcglider
Squadron Leader

Big Grin TOS Galactica Council Seal Box kit

Hello everyone!

Yup, I just keep at it. I have now molded the scarab box as seen in the Classic Galactica episode "Lost Planet Of The Gods". It was used to store the Seal Of Kobol in.

I managed to get one of the real 1970's vintage off-the-shelf boxes exactly like the one used in the show. But the detail on it was so "soft" and the box itself was warped... it wasn't worth the silicone to mold the real thing. What I did: I measured. I studied. I drew plans. Then I re-created the box portion to the same measurements as the original, put clean, distinct copies of the real heiroglyphs on the sides and cast a new mold. The Scarab device on the top of the box was in decent shape, so I took an alginate mold of the real thing and cast a workable copy. I cleaned that copy up immensely (had to go in and re-define all the extremely soft lines) and it comes as a separate piece that you glue onto the lid. All in all, this is the closest thing to the real thing you'll find.

I cannot post images here, but if you like, you can see te box at this thread elsewhere: http://www.rpf.invisionzone.com/inde...howtopic=98493

Otherwise i'll be happy to send jpegs to anyone who is interested.

What you get for your hard earned sheckles:

Box Body (pressure cast resin)
Box Lid (pressure cast resin)
Lid Scarab (resin pressure cast from an original!)
[In all that's almost 30 ounces of resin)
Sintra lid return (glues to the bottom of the lid)
Felt for non-scratch bottom

You'll have to supply your own purple satin for the interior pilow.
The Council Seal is NOT included. Council Seals are available with your box order for $6 each.

Kit price: $39.00 PLUS $5.50 shipping inside the US.

I accept PayPal, money orders and personal checks with time to clear the bank.
Paypal id is spcglider@aol.com