PDA

View Full Version : Colonial Heavy Cannon


gmd3d
March 1st, 2011, 08:46 AM
I done some work on the cannon and the surrounding detail.
I donīt want to go to heavy on this yet if it going onto the
Galactica model.

it will kick up the poly count to high... I can add more detail later for the specific shots and close up etc

Punisher454
March 1st, 2011, 11:07 AM
looks great.

gmd3d
March 1st, 2011, 12:02 PM
thanks .:) I will be starting on the lighter cannon tomorrow

gmd3d
March 3rd, 2011, 10:53 AM
light cannons .... close to the original design as I think I can get it... there is a lot of curve tubes that I decided to leave out to keep the poly count down.....

peter noble
March 3rd, 2011, 03:14 PM
Excellente!

mikala
March 3rd, 2011, 06:34 PM
Looking great.
I think I would go hardcore on the detail and use tight (high detail) sets, shot close or from the point of view of the gun outwards. Tracking Raiders :)
Lower rez guns could be placed on the ol Gal for hero shots of the ship.

gmd3d
March 4th, 2011, 03:08 AM
Looking great.
I think I would go hardcore on the detail and use tight (high detail) sets, shot close or from the point of view of the gun outwards. Tracking Raiders :)
Lower rez guns could be placed on the ol Gal for hero shots of the ship.

Yeah good idea,,,, I will see to that.. I want to finish the basic design by today ....

I want to finish the Colonial Pistol and rifle started next week

when I will be looking at the sets and the story to flesh out some .

I wont work on the techmanual stuff until we have sorted all the Gray areas out.

Titon
March 4th, 2011, 03:49 AM
My 2 cents? Forget about poly count. Quit worrying about all those whiny people that are concerned about the dreaded poly count threshold. For one your not in a professional production pipeline where you need to push out content at at a 72 hour pace.

So in other words go nut's! Er sorta.

:D

Ps....By the way, if you look really close at your first post of the heavy cannon you will realize that the detail around the outside of the gun is also located on top of the cylon basestar. They are the smaller bridges that cross between each of the sections.

gmd3d
March 4th, 2011, 04:06 AM
My 2 cents? Forget about poly count. Quit worrying about all those whiny people that are concerned about the dreaded poly count threshold. For one your not in a professional production pipeline where you need to push out content at at a 72 hour pace.

So in other words go nut's! Er sorta.

:D

Ps....By the way, if you look really close at your first post of the heavy cannon you will realize that the detail around the outside of the gun is also located on top of the cylon basestar. They are the smaller bridges that cross between each of the sections.


Yeah i tend to worry about the poly count.... habit from my old PC.

that a good find and advise.

I will work on that... make it easier to work out

Reaper
March 4th, 2011, 06:35 AM
Ps....By the way, if you look really close at your first post of the heavy cannon you will realize that the detail around the outside of the gun is also located on top of the cylon basestar. They are the smaller bridges that cross between each of the sections.

Looking at that detail you posted, that same piece is used on the colonial laser pistols. Great find!

Folkrm
April 11th, 2011, 07:01 AM
Taranis;

I see you are also working on the BSG AA Guns. If you wish you are welcome to use mine.

It can be seen at the following thread on this site:
My TOS BSG AA Laser Turret WIP

gmd3d
April 11th, 2011, 07:20 AM
cool ....... can you post a link here .....

and good to see you post here again .

Folkrm
April 11th, 2011, 07:50 AM
Taranis;

here are some recent pics????

Folkrm

Issue: The forum will not let me upload any pics, I get the following messages, even though I have renamed the files... See Bottom messages:

When I go to the following thread link, I cannot see ANY of my previous attachments?
http://www.colonialfleets.com/forums/newreply.php?do=newreply&noquote=1&p=284732

Not sure what the problem is, but these are the messages I keep getting:

AA-Gun-01.jpg:
You have already attached this file in thread : My TOS BSG AA Laser Turret WIP
AA-Gun-02.jpg:
You have already attached this file in thread : My TOS BSG AA Laser Turret WIP
AA-Gun-03.jpg:
You have already attached this file in thread : Colonial Heavy Cannon
AA-Gun-04.jpg:
You have already attached this file in thread : My TOS BSG AA Laser Turret WIP
AA-Gun-05.jpg:
You have already attached this file in thread : Colonial Fleets Techical Manual

Punisher454
April 11th, 2011, 11:32 PM
Taranis;

here are some recent pics????

Folkrm

Issue: The forum will not let me upload any pics, I get the following messages, even though I have renamed the files... See Bottom messages:

When I go to the following thread link, I cannot see ANY of my previous attachments?
http://www.colonialfleets.com/forums/newreply.php?do=newreply&noquote=1&p=284732

Not sure what the problem is, but these are the messages I keep getting:

AA-Gun-01.jpg:
You have already attached this file in thread : My TOS BSG AA Laser Turret WIP
AA-Gun-02.jpg:
You have already attached this file in thread : My TOS BSG AA Laser Turret WIP
AA-Gun-03.jpg:
You have already attached this file in thread : Colonial Heavy Cannon
AA-Gun-04.jpg:
You have already attached this file in thread : My TOS BSG AA Laser Turret WIP
AA-Gun-05.jpg:
You have already attached this file in thread : Colonial Fleets Techical Manual

I had a similar problem uploading some pics that had been previously uploaded but got lost here. You can edit the old post that contained the pic in question and remove the "phantom" image from the attachments list. then you may be able to add the same image in a new post.

-Or-

You can re-name the image you want to upload.
Worked for me.

Marvin